This is NOT a Think Piece

Maybe the term “Feel Piece” would be a more accurate description of what this is.

I was in the process of completing (meaning: procrastinating on) another blog post, but in light of both recent and sustained events in local, national, and global news, I felt compelled to shelf that post for another day and, in its stead, write this one.

What events, perchance, am I referring to?
Basically every hateful, negative, and horrific thing that’s been in the media as of late. I don’t really see a need to name any particular happening because there are just so many. I honestly feel that I’ve been seeing the underbelly of humanity for the past few months.

The main thing I’ve learned from this unrelenting wave of ills is that people have a great capacity (whether we wish to believe it or not) to be extremely shitty to one another. Why? I don’t know. I couldn’t even pretend to understand how an abuser, or terrorist, or dictator, or sociopath, or cyber-bully, could justify his/her malfeasance towards other people, which prevents me from being an unbiased observer, but when it comes to those types of beings, I don’t care to be.

All I’m saying is, and this will likely come off as naive, but I just wish that we, as humans, treated one another with love and respect. I may not agree with everything (or anything) another person says and does, but that isn’t cause for me spew harm or hatred at them in any way.

There is just so much misfortune in this world brought on by circumstances beyond our control, so I can’t, for the life of me, understand why any person would want to contribute to that misfortune in even one individual’s life, let alone many lives.

Leave a Reply

