Words

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what I say.  Words are extremely powerful and people, myself included, can sometimes take that fact for granted.  Although I rarely intend to cause malicious harm to anyone with my words, I understand that even things said offhandedly or in jest can cause a profound hurt in people.  I’ve been on both the giving and receiving ends of this.

You never know what others might be going through and your unkind words, whether said seriously or jokingly, could be what pushes someone over the edge…  The tragic suicide of 29 year-old actor Lee Thompson Young (“The Famous Jett Jackson,” “Rizzoli & Isles”) earlier today just made this all the more apparent to me.  I don’t know what demons he may have been facing or what brought him to such a point of hopelessness that he felt death was his only option, but I wonder if someone’s loving, kind, and affirming words could’ve made the difference.

That is why I’m making the conscious effort to be more thoughtful about the words I say and the kind of energy (positive or negative) that those words put into the universe.  I want my words to make people feel validated, special, and cared for.  I want to build people up and encourage them with the things I say, not tear them down.  I want to speak words of life and words of love because these types of words could very well be someone’s saving grace.

I end this post with the Facebook status I posted a few hours ago that sums up how I feel:

“I just want to take a minute to validate everyone on my Friends list. I don’t know what you’re going through, but I want you to know that you’re special, you matter, you’re the best (and only) you on the face of the earth! Take pride in that and love yourself. Your life is a blessing, so use it to bless others.”

Leave a Reply

