Leave It to Me…

…to have a Cheat Day, followed by a Skip Day.  I played hooky last night, guys, I’m sorry.

What had happened was, I won a Twitter contest (random, I know) for a Meet & Greet with R&B singer, Elle Varner.  It was such a blessing that this would happen because Elle had performed at my university last semester, but I was abroad at the time and missed out.  I’m a HUGE fan of her music, so I was more than a little upset about not getting to see her perform live…and then yesterday happened:

After randomly refreshing my Twitter feed Tuesday night, I saw the info for the contest and did what was asked of me, not thinking much of it.  The following morning, I get an email that I’ve been chosen and providing the address of where the Meet & Greet would take place.  The only requirement was that I show up on time with a physical copy of her CD.  I was worried that it might be a sham, but I decided that I’d take a chance.  Why not?  I wasn’t aware at the time that this whole event was put together to celebrate the 1 year anniversary of the release of Elle’s wonderful debut album, Perfectly Imperfect.

I ran to J&R to buy the CD after work (because who buys physical CDs anymore? I own the album via iTunes, but that didn’t count.) and got to the address about an hour early.  I was waiting in the lobby, when I saw two girls walk in, who happened to be there for the same reason as me.  We took the elevator up together and were let into a small lobby.  Elle’s pictures were on one set of doors and we heard what sounded like instruments and seating being set up behind another door.  More people started trickling in  and we all talked and laughed, comparing stories of how we came to be in that room at that time.  It was then that we realized we were in the office of MBK Entertainment, the management company responsible for Elle Varner, as well as the amazingly talented Ms. Alicia Keys.

We were eventually led into the second door and it was a cozy room with purple walls set up for an intimate performance.  The email hadn’t specified that Elle would be singing anything, so I was elated to see all of this.  I made myself comfortable in the couch closest to her microphone and waited patiently for her arrival.  In the meantime, we got to hear an impromptu opening act from singer/songwriter Anthony Hall (who was really good and really cute) and some funny, entertaining words from Jeff Robinson, Elle’s (and Alicia’s) manager.

At around 8:30pm, Elle strolled in and her outfit was adorable; She looked so nice!  She sang a few of her songs, including an unreleased one called, “Number One Song” that I can’t wait to buy on iTunes.  As expected, she sounded amazing.  AND she played a brand new song that will be on her sophomore album, featuring Wale.  IT. WAS. HOT.  Then, there was a Q&A session, where Elle graciously answered all of our questions and kindly eluded any that asked about a potential release date for album #2.  She was so cool, funny, and down to earth.

Finally, an anniversary cake was brought out and she wished for the success of her second album and world peace, then blew out her candles.  So, there I was, eating celebrity cake while chatting up manager, Jeff Robinson, thinking, “This is the life,”  when the topic turned to Alicia Keys.  After basically professing my love for her and her music, Jeff allowed me and the 3 girls I was hanging out with to take a picture with Alicia’s DIAMOND album, Songs in A Minor.  It was a perfect end to a perfect night.

By the time I got home, it was today, so there you have it: the long-winded reason why yesterday got no #31WriteNow post.  I did get you a consolation gift, however:

Here’s a picstitch of the highlights of my evening.

(Clockwise from top left) Elle Varner and myself, Elle performing with her guitar, my 3 new friends and I with Alicia Key's Diamond Album (Thanks Jeff!), and my autographed CD.

(Clockwise from top left) Elle Varner and myself, Elle performing with her guitar, my 3 new friends and I with Alicia Key’s Diamond album (Thanks Jeff!), and my autographed Perfectly Imperfect CD.

Leave a Reply

