Serial Starters Unite (and Finish Something)!

“My name is Monique and I’m a serial starter.”
“Hi, Monique,” the crowd responds dully.

I’m an ideas person.  I always have been.  It’s easy for me to come up with new and exciting things to write, or do, or create, but when it comes to actually executing those things, somewhere down the line, I fall off.  After looking back on my life, I’ve concluded that I’m what you’d refer to as a, “serial starter.” Meaning, I start lots of things and rarely ever finish them.  It’s a terrible, terrible condition.  Let me give a personal example of it:

A while ago, I came up with the brilliant idea to create a Twitter account from which I would tweet haikus.  I figured it would be a fun and creative way to get me writing on a daily basis.  Plus, if my haikus were really good (as I knew they would be), I would accrue  millions of followers and become a Twitter celebrity.  I had it all figured out.  Or so I thought.

Unfortunately, after maybe two weeks of tweeting haikus from my @HeartfeltHaiku account, I gave up.  I was disillusioned by the fact that I had only managed to accumulate a handful of followers in that time and saw the naivete in my earlier dream of gaining millions of them with ease.  I also realized that it would take lots and lots of hard work (networking, self-promotion, consistency, etc.) to succeed at this and I just wasn’t willing to put in that amount of effort.  And most of all, I was afraid.  I wondered, “What happens if I put in all the necessary effort and still end up failing?”  I didn’t want to be perceived as a failure, so I quit.  (Which makes no sense, but alas, that’s how my mind works.)

I realize now that this is no way to go through life.  If you don’t finish anything, you’ll never accomplish anything.  You’ll never get to experience the feeling of pride one gets from a job well done. You’ll also be resigned to a life of resentment, where the things that should’ve/could’ve/would’ve happened had you completed what you started will eat at you constantly.  No one wants that, so let’s just all agree to serially finish whatever we serially start. Okay? Okay.

Meeting adjourned.

One thought on “Serial Starters Unite (and Finish Something)!

Leave a Reply

