Ode to Food Network

(I know this isn’t really an ode, but just go with it. Okay?)

I love Food Network.
If I could, I’d marry it and then name our firstborn child after it.

There isn’t a single show on the Food Network that doesn’t provide me with some level of enjoyment or entertainment.  I don’t know what it is…I just love it.  And I’m by no means a foodie.  In fact, I may just be the pickiest eater you’ve never met.  (I survived the first 10 years of my life on only Spaghetti-Os, Trix Yogurt, and Cheese Doodles.)  There’s just something about Food Network programming that always keeps my attention.

There’s the action in Kitchen Stadium, as the Iron Chef and Challenger go head-to-head on Iron Chef America.  There’s the drama of a confrontation between a restaurateur and his schmoozing employees on Mystery Diners or Restaurant Stakeout.  There’s the  suspense of wondering what ingredients will be in the Chopped baskets or which contestant will be sent home next on Food Network Star.  I could go on and on.

Granted, no network is perfect.  There are a few things about Food Network that don’t sit well with me: the spiky bleach-blond hair of Guy Fieri and Anne Burrell, the fact that you can’t be 100% sure that Rachael Ray is really making all those meals in 30 minutes, Paula Deen…

Even so, none of this changes the fact that Food Network is quality television.  It appeals so strongly to the housewife inside of me who wishes to stay home and cook gourmet meals for my husband, Food Network, and our son, Food Network jr.

So, here’s to you, Food Network!  You rock.  Keep the food coming.

One thought on “Ode to Food Network

  1. You can definitely see your enthusiasm within the paintings you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. At all times go after your heart.

Leave a Reply

