The Bane of My Educational Existence

(Originally posted to my Tumblr on Jul 20, 2011.)

I’m a Human Development major and I absolutely love it. It fits me so perfectly. I spend my days learning about people: specifically how we develop from conception to old age cognitively, emotionally, and physically. It’s great.

Unfortunately, I’m not great at articulating that when people ask me about it. The question I get about my studies that really annoys me most is, “What kind of job can you get with that degree right after you graduate?”

I never know how to answer that question because my undergraduate degree doesn’t have a clear-cut career path and I like it that way. It gives me the space to explore and experiment and find what I’m really passionate about. Once I do, I’ll get a masters degree in that area and then go to work.

Right now, I’ve discovered that my passions include television/media, writing, education, child advocacy, non-profits, and publishing and I can see myself pursuing a career in any of those. And thanks to my major’s ambiguous career prospects, I can.

Leave a Reply

