No, Mom

(Originally posted to my Tumblr on Jan 12, 2011.)

No, Mom, I didn’t wash the dishes.
Sorry that bothers you so much.
Sorry you think I sit around and do nothing all day.
Sorry I have my head in the clouds.
Sorry for thinking there’s something more, something better for me out there beyond the sky.
Sorry you don’t understand me.
Sorry you don’t even try to.
Sorry you’re a realist and I’m a dreamer.
Sorry this world’s been kinder to me than it probably has been to you.
Sorry my dreams haven’t yet been killed by the tragedies of life.
Sorry my dreams are bigger than any pot, pan, or coffee cup currently sitting in the sink.
No, Mom, I didn’t wash the dishes.
Sorry.

Leave a Reply

