Forgot to mention…

(Originally posted to my Tumblr on Jul 10, 2010.)

Even though I’m having such a great time at school, I feel like I’m in limbo. It’s like, I know I graduated from high school already, but sometimes I forget. For example, let’s say something funny happens here at Cornell and I begin to think, “OMG, I can’t wait to get back to Tech (my high school) to tell my friends.” But, I’m not going back there, that’s not my school anymore; that chapter of my life is finished.

Though, for some reason, I feel as if all of the goodbyes I said at graduation were lies. They felt so indefinite. I shed not one tear, because it felt like I wasn’t really leaving, just going on summer vacation or something. When will it sink in?

I think Facebook and other networking sites are to blame for this. Even though I don’t see my former classmates physically as much as I used to, I still get to see into their world and daily lives unfold via the internet as if nothing’s changed…it’s weird.

I always thought that staying in contact with people and making the world smaller and more intimate was a good thing, but now, it’s just plain confusing.

Leave a Reply

